City Hall of Lavizzara

City Hall of Lavizzara

The daring choice of placing the new municipal administration office in the Patrician building of Prato Sornico was dictated by the desire to stress the context of the new Municipality of Lavizzara still further, in order that it become a precise point of reference for all of its inhabitants.

Concerning the prestigious mandate for the design of the new municipal premises and the new Patrician office which was assigned to me, I endeavoured to capture its innate spirit in order to respect the site fully and to embellish this beautiful structure, while completely fulfilling all present and future requirements for its use. In addition to its architectural value, it has a significant local historical context.

Located in the heart of the Lavizzara Valley, an extraordinary showcase still untouched by the industrialization process which has already considerably affected other regions, this structure is very important for its past functions and still evokes strong feelings.

The present reality was the point of reference which I intended to reassess, by following and respecting the traces of the past. Through observation, one could immediately perceive that the volume layout of this structure did not need to be modified, given its symmetrical and rigorous façades and its four pitch roof of stone slabs, which are strong expressions of power, elegance and sobriety.

Leggi tutto...

As usual, my work was accompanied and made easier by those who built this structure in the past: poor but rich in ordered schemes, with a gracious and delicate arrangement, all signs of kindness and sensitivity, respect and devotion to work, in order to assure dignity and beauty for the village.

The plan foresaw the conversion of the existing structure into a municipal administration seat and a Patrician office for the new Municipality of Lavizzara. While searching for the optimum functionality of the building, our intervention aimed at enhancing the original geometrical and symmetrical precision of the structure. Therefore, it was limited to the static, technical and safety requirements. At the same time, the refurbishment of the roof made of stone slabs also had to be carried out. The structure was completely cleared of any unnecessary elements, while its new functions were simply placed in its interior, without changing or modifying it, thus highlighting the new from the existing elements, where the original material is always displayed through the transparency and luminosity of glass which frames the new functions.

Also, for this restoration and rehabilitation work, the greatest merit has undoubtedly to be given exclusively to our ancestors. I felt as an artisan merely continuing the work who, based on new demands of our present era, resolved to adapt this structure with a touch of modernity, yet with no architectural pretences.

Its delicate, rigorous and seemingly frosty façades, as well as its arched main entrance facing the farthest horizon that the mountains allow us to see, seem to want to communicate with eternity. These façades suffice to make us know intuitively that there is nothing more dangerous than boundaries and self-withdrawal. The façades seem to invite us always to be more open and involved, in order to increase our opportunities and our knowledge. The installation of new wall-mounted doors and windows for the façades was proposed in order to provide a lighter and more transparent image, as well as a minimalist whole and a contemporary interpretation.

The external access begins outside with a ramp of monolithic elements made in white Peccia marble, which are simply placed next to the original steps made of granite. The internal entrance, also made of granite slabs, leads to the already existing elegant and conveniently roomy stairs and provides access to the upper floors and also to the higher, noble storey with the hall reserved for meetings of the City Council.

On the ground floor, there are the Municipal Council room and the municipal technician’s office. In addition to new restrooms, there is also access to the lift, which was considered necessary because of the important functions of the upper floors. On the first floor, there is the entrance to the Patrician office, which was located in the existing part of the structure which was added uphill.

In the southern part of the first floor, there are the chancellery offices with the counters, which have been created in the existing space and are separated by large walls made of transparent glass. The City Council Hall on the second floor can also be used as a multipurpose room for meetings, lectures and presentations. After having removed the very old mansard floor, I thought it proper to check the original statics of the load-bearing elements of the roof, as well as to offer spaciousness, elegance and luminosity thanks to a gilded ceiling: this mixture of lights draws one’s gaze in all possible directions, without ever losing one’s bearings. Also, the transparency and the verticality towards the attic have improved the acoustics and the aesthetics of the hall.

This structure was meant for all of us, for the people of Lavizzara, but also for politicians and politics. An administrative and planning office for our valley, in the hope that it will continually become more open and creative – this is my wish – a laboratory for new ideas: new ideas turning into projects, not only to fill up shelves, but rather to be realized by a community aware of the possibility of a better future which, for many generations, has kept hoping and working hard, longing with great patience for more favourable times.

Before starting any new projects, it comes naturally to me to reflect and base myself upon at least two fundamental reference points which the Lavizzara Valley has the fortune and the privilege to possess: the generous testimony of the past, which is there to be seen and to be reinterpreted, the contemporary reality which, together with its unique stone-hewn jewel, the Church of Mogno, has become part of recent history beginning in 1986.More than any other region, we can be proud of having the attention of the whole world fixed on us.

Both the projectuel theme and the realization have been full of opportunities, whereas the research and the execution of the details have enabled us to leave our mark and to reassess with minimalism the restoration of this structure. Once again, I am very grateful for the opportunity I was given to devote myself to this work, which gave me the feeling that I had found the keys to both the past and the future.

Annexes

- Inaugurazione del 14 giugno 2009, Bollettino informativo Lavizzara(.pdf)

Insights
06.2010Vivere la MontagnaRiattazione e trasformazione della casa comunaleit
15.06.2009Corriere del TicinoUna Casa comunale che guarda al futuroit
15.06.2009Giornale del PopoloInaugurato un gioiello,simbolo di unione e spirito democraticoit
15.06.2009La RegioneSimbolo d'unione e spirito democraticoit

Giovan Luigi Dazio
Architetto

Via Ramogna 14 | 6600 Locarno
T. +41 (0) 91 751 63 82
N. +41 (0) 79 409 83 63
F. +41 (0) 91 752 23 19
E. glddazio@gld-dazio.ch

Tutte le informazioni (testi, immagini, video) pubblicate sul sito web www.gld-dazio.ch sono di esclusiva proprietà dello Studio d'Architettura Giovan Luigi Dazio. Per l'utilizzo, la riproduzione e la distribuzione di queste informazioni è necessario richiedere il consenso del proprietario.

La Mairie de Lavizzara

La Mairie de Lavizzara

Le choix courageux d’établir le nouveau siège administratif communal dans l’édifice patricial de Prato Sornico a été dicté par le désir de vouloir contextualiser davantage la nouvelle Commune de Lavizzara, en vue de la faire devenir un point de référence précis pour tous ses citoyens.

De ce mandat prestigieux qui m’a été conféré, j’ai voulu capturer le fil conducteur pour le projet du nouveau siège communal ainsi que du nouveau office patricial, avec des interventions qui répondent aux nécessités d’aujourd’hui et de demain, respectant le site et valorisant ce splendide édifice qui, au-delà de sa valeur architectonique, a une histoire très importante à son actif.

Situé au cœur du Val Lavizzara, une sorte d’extraordinaire vitrine qui n’a pas été touchée par le processus d’industrialisation qui, par contre, a déjà gravement dégradé d’autres régions, cet édifice est particulièrement important de par sa fonction originaire et en conserve une forte expression.

La réalité existante a été le point de référence que j’ai voulu réévaluer, suivant et respectant les témoignages du passé. Après une observation attentive, l’on apercevait tout de suite que cet édifice ne devait pas être modifié dans sa volumétrie, avec ses façades si symétriques et rigoureuses, son toit en plaques de pierre à quatre pans dont émanent de fortes expressions de pouvoir, élégance et sobriété.

Leggi tutto...

Comme d’habitude, mon travail a été accompagné et facilité par ceux qui, dans le passé, ont bâti cet édifice pauvre mais, à la fois, riche en schémas ordonnés, avec des installations cossues et délicates, signes de gentillesse et sensibilité, respect et attachement au travail et, cela, afin d’assurer la dignité et la beauté du village.

Le projet prévoyait la transformation de l’édifice existant en un siège administratif communal et en office patricial de la nouvelle Commune de Lavizzara. Tout en recherchant la fonctionnalité maximale de l’édifice, nos interventions à la structure ont voulu rehausser la précision géométrique et symétrique originale. Celles-ci se sont donc limitées aux nécessités statiques, techniques et de sécurité tout en estimant toutefois indispensable de faire la révision du toit en plaques de pierre. L’édifice a été complètement dépouillé de tous les éléments superflus et les nouvelles fonctions ont simplement été appuyées à son intérieur sans le transformer ou le plier à sa nouvelle destination. Ceci lui permet de mettre en évidence les nouveautés par rapport à l’ancien, où les matériaux originaux peuvent toujours être perçus à travers la transparence et la luminosité du verre qui en définit les nouvelles fonctions.

Même en ce qui concerne ce travail de restauration et de récupération, le grand mérite va sans doute et uniquement à tous ceux qui m’ont précédé. Je me suis senti un artisan qui, par exigences et temps différents, a donné suite et a voulu adapter cet édifice avec une touche de modernité, sans prétention sur le plan architectonique.Ses façades fragiles, rigoureuses et presque glaciales ainsi que son entrée principale arquée tournée vers l’horizon le plus ouvert que les montagnes nous permettent d’observer, semblent vouloir communiquer avec l’infini. Elles suffisent à nous faire comprendre qu’il n’y a rien de plus dangereux que de se donner des limites et de se refermer sur soi-même. Les façades semblent nous inviter à être encore plus ouverts et présents, à fin de pouvoir élargir nos opportunités et nos connaissances. Le montage des nouveaux bâtis à feuillure des façades a été proposé pour obtenir une image légère et transparente, un ensemble minimaliste et une interprétation contemporaine.

Le chemin débute de l’extérieur avec une rampe d’éléments monolithiques en marbre blanc de Peccia, qui sont simplement accostés au vieil escalier en granit. Le parcours intérieur, également en plaques de granit, conduit jusqu’à l’élégant et pratique escalier intérieur existant qui permet d’atteindre les étages supérieurs et donc de monter à l’étage plus haut et noble, où il y a la salle destinée aux réunions du Conseil Communal.

Retournant au rez-de-chaussée, l’on pourra observer la salle de la mairie et l’office technique. Aux nouveaux services s’ajoute aussi l’accès à l’ascenseur, qui a été estimé nécessaire dû aux importantes fonctions des étages supérieurs. Au premier étage, il y a l’accès à l’office patricial, prévu dans les espaces existants de la construction qui a été ajoutée vers l’amont.

Dans la partie sud du premier étage, voilà les bureaux de la chancellerie avec le guichet, qui ont été créés dans l’espace existant et séparés par de grandes parois en verre transparent. La salle du Conseil Communal au deuxième étage pourrait aussi devenir une salle polyvalente pour des réunions, des conférences ou des présentations. On a éliminé le vétuste plancher de la mansarde et il m’a paru adéquat de vérifier la statique originale des éléments portants du toit et de proposer espace, élégance et luminosité grâce à son plafond doré: des mélanges de lumières où le regard peut embrasser toutes les directions possibles, sans jamais se perdre. La transparence et la verticalité vers les combles ont aussi amélioré l’acoustique et l’esthétique de la salle.

Un édifice pour nous tous de Lavizzara, pour les politiciens et pour la politique, donc pour tout le monde. Un siège administratif et projectuel pour une vallée qui puisse devenir toujours plus ouverte et créative – ceci est mon souhait – un laboratoire d’idées; des idées qui puissent se transformer en des projets, non pas pour remplir les étagères, mais bien pour être réalisés par une communauté consciente de la possibilité d’un avenir meilleur qui, depuis plusieurs générations, espère et travaille infatigablement, attendant, avec patience, des moments plus prospères.

Avant tous mes projets, il me vient spontanément à l’idée de me concentrer sur au moins deux des références fondamentales que le Val Lavizzara a la chance et le privilège de posséder: le témoignage généreux du passé, qui est bien visible par tout un chacun évident à tous et qui doit être réinterprété, la réalité contemporaine qui, grâce à son bijou unique en pierre de l’église de Mogno, est entrée à faire partie de l’histoire dès 1986.

Plus que dans n’importe quelle autre région, nous pouvons être fiers de percevoir les regards du monde entier tournés vers nous.Le thème projectuel et la réalisation ont été riches en opportunités, tandis que la recherche et l’exécution des détails ont permis de marquer et de réévaluer avec minimalisme la restauration de cet édifice. Encore une fois, je suis très reconnaissant pour cette possibilité qui m’a été offerte de me dédier à ce travail, dans lequel j’ai eu l’impression de trouver les clés du temps passé et futur.

Pièces jointes

- Inaugurazione del 14 giugno 2009, Bollettino informativo Lavizzara(.pdf)

Approfondimenti
06.2010Vivere la MontagnaRiattazione e trasformazione della casa comunaleit
15.06.2009Corriere del TicinoUna Casa comunale che guarda al futuroit
15.06.2009Giornale del PopoloInaugurato un gioiello,simbolo di unione e spirito democraticoit
15.06.2009La RegioneSimbolo d'unione e spirito democraticoit

Giovan Luigi Dazio
Architetto

Via Ramogna 14 | 6600 Locarno
T. +41 (0) 91 751 63 82
N. +41 (0) 79 409 83 63
F. +41 (0) 91 752 23 19
E. glddazio@gld-dazio.ch