House Rocco, al Forn and Vedola

Conversion and restoration of a settlement in Fusio

These buildings – the surviving evidence of an ancient civilisation and age-old experience based on solid moral values – had been abandoned, forgotten and unloved for many decades. The opportunity to think about them again, the effort involved in consolidating traditional elements by using materials found in the area, such as wood and stone, without repeating or, even worse, improvising techniques used in the past, amounted to a major challenge. I felt I had to set aside any feelings of indifference and accept the huge responsibility of conserving environmental forms, and retaining consistency between the use of space and emotions. I had an intense feeling of respect for these buildings constructed as a response to the demands of everyday work, the need for a humble yet solid dwelling, possibly constructed without any accurate measurements or drawings but in tranquil harmony with nature, without losing sight of the atavistic need to make as many savings as possible in terms of time and labour, capital to be invested in the impelling needs imposed by living in those times.

The huge responsibility of conserving the use of space – perfectly distributed – devoting special attention to the exteriors and to the accesses to each house, ran alongside my desire to protect the feelings and emotions I felt emanating from those ancient walls, evoking not only memories and recollections but also lessons about life which still apply and are profoundly meaningful.

- Presentation Board (.pdf)

Leggi tutto...

This is how a well-organised and particularly well-researched plan came into being in relation to these living units, which were once byres and mountain huts for peasants, created from an architecture based on instinct, associated with, and dependent on, nature and now preserved for the foreigner, the philosopher, the common man who wishes to spend his free time there meditating, accepting, growing, changing, working with technology or idling away his time listening to the water, the wind, his own steps, isolating himself or remaining in contact with the world via cutting edge technology and, why not, setting aside a space where he can be assured of absolute silence in order to rethink his own journey through this world. The material needed to reconstruct was associated with a love for the history of the country, admiration for all the different styles and strong vibrations which can be felt, but the commission also had to form part of a larger project for reviving this wonderful upper valley. The decision to base the actual development mainly on architectural aspects and on the requirements of living was, and is, a trump card, expanding its appeal to provide greater conviction in terms of tourism and culture. The time is the present, the here and now.

When an inexorable decline is perceived, the only way to combat it is to reconvert the structures themselves by means of plans for restoring buildings which have fallen into disuse, and to make the most of the resources already present, thus creating a different imprint on the current and future countryside. Although many of the original features of the buildings are retained, contemporary elements are an emphatic aspect of the restoration, showing how the countryside is changing and that in order to retain consistency with the past it is necessary to invest in taste, in beauty, in what is unique, in cutting-edge technology, in innovative projects. Consequently the buildings are equipped with services capable of satisfying the most modern demands, with Internet connections and any other requirements in terms of modern technology. The aim of the project was to respect the nobility of the existing structures, with rigour and simplicity, while solving the problems associated with restoring buildings in a condition of advanced static and functional deterioration. The new interventions can be seen in the adapted interior of the building, with the outer shell retaining its historical origins. Special finishing touches of the highest standard complete the restoration, producing a unified, comfortable and practical result. The typology of the buildings is characterised by the presence of a variety of structures. The stone outer walls constitute a solid and irregular shell, typified by the presence of volumes and openings dating from different ages.

The internal structures have been developed on different levels and the interiors have given an essential and more rational functionality to the ancient living spaces, with a new equilibrium thus being created, characterised by the dialogue between two strong and precise structures, ancient and modern, which interact between each other in a play of light, superposition, materials and sounds. The new relationship of this settlement of buildings set in the countryside has been strengthened now they have been integrated in a more inspiring way, thus improving their individual qualities. Upper Vallemaggia is a modest region, which does not like to show off, but looking after it carefully has always been a predominant concern of the art of living, as can be seen from the historical buildings and the architectural details which have been carefully researched and structured. The man from the mountains needs to make more effort than others to improve his own conditions or to make money but, at the same time, he must be aware that his own region can be a source of strength for the community. The coming together of individual wishes and the collective purpose is the most powerful driving force for change and development in history, the unmistakeable sign of success. Unfortunately it is this synergy which often gets lost with the passing of that moral inspiration which was the source of success and growth in the past. There could be a solution: our society must once again accept that there can be no growth without risk. We do not have to protect every single thing we find in absolute terms, but there are risks which all of us must learn to accept and closely examine.

Insights
03.09.2010Häuser ModernisierenAus Liebe zum Steinde
2010EingängeRustico "Rocco" - Roger Mandlde
10.2007HelvetissimoHelvetissimo - Casa Rocco, Casa al Forn, Casa La Vedolait / en / de / fr
09.2007HelvetissimoHelvetissimo - L'architecture au service de l'historie et de l'avenirde / fr
05.2007Cantieri & AbitareRiattazione e trasformazione nucleo, Fusio (Vallemaggia)it
02.2007Vivere la MontagnaRelazione, trasformazione e riattazione di un nucleo a Fusio-Vallemaggiait
02.2007Living is LifeIl rustico nobilitatoit
30.01.2007Giornale del PopoloOcchi aperti su Fusioit
01.2007BaumeisterSanierung und Umbau Casa Rocco,Casa al Forn, Casa La Vedola in Fusio/Tessinde

Giovan Luigi Dazio
Architetto

Via Ramogna 14 | 6600 Locarno
T. +41 (0) 91 751 63 82
N. +41 (0) 79 409 83 63
F. +41 (0) 91 752 23 19
E. glddazio@gld-dazio.ch

Maison Rocco, al Forn et Vedola

Transformation et remise en état d’un groupe de bâtiments à Fusio

Ces bâtiments – témoignages survivants d’une civilisation ancienne et d’une expérience séculaire fondée sur des valeurs morales sûres – étaient abandonnés, oubliés, meprisés depuis plusieurs décennies. L’opportunité de les repenser, l’effort de consolider ce qui était né de la tradition avec l’emploi de matériaux trouvés sur place: le bois et la pierre, en évitant de répéter, ou pire d’improviser des technoques du passé , ont été un grand défi. Je voyais l’obligation de sortir de l’indifférence, d’accepter la lourde responsabilité de conserver les formes environnementales, de ne pas perdre l’accord entre l’utilité des espaces et les émotions. J’éprouvais un intense sentiment de respect pour ces habitations construites en réponse aux exigences du travail quotidien, du besoin d’une maison modeste mais solide, construites peut-être sans mètre et sans plan mais en harmonie tranquille avec la nature, sans perdre de vue la nécessité atavique d’économiser le plus possible de temps et de fatigue, capitaux à investir dans les nécessités pressantes imposées par la vie d’alors. La grande responsabilité de conserver l’utilité des espaces – parfaitement distribués – en portant une attention particulière aux extérieurs et aux accès de chaque maison, se complétait du désir de sauvegarder les sentiments et les émotions que je sentais émaner de ces murailles qui évoquaient non seulement des souvenirs et des mémoires, mais aussi une leçon de vie encore actuelle et d’une puissante signification.

- Présentation au Conseil (.pdf)

Leggi tutto...

Il en est né un projet articulé et particulièrement approfondi de ces unités d’habitation, jadis étables et chalets de paysans, créées par une architecture instinctive, liée à la nature et en dépendant, et sauvées maintenant par l’étranger, le philosophe, l’homme ordinaire qui souhaite y passer son temps libre pour méditer, accepter, grandir, changer, travailler avec la technologie ou passer le temps à flâner, en écoutant l’eau, le vent, le bruit de ses pas, en s’isolant ou en gardant le contact avec le monde au moyen des technologies les plus modernes et, pourquoi pas, se réserver un espace sûr de silence absolu pour réfléchir à son voyage sur cette terre. Le besoin matériel de reconstruire s’est conjugué à l’amour pour l’histoire du pays, à l’admiration pour les styles différenciés, aux fortes vibrations perçues, mais le rendez-vous devait s’inscrire dans un projet plus vaste pour relancer cette merveilleuse haute vallée. Le choix de baser son développement principalement sur la réalité architecturale et sur l’habitat était, et est, une carte maîtresse, faisant appel à une grande conviction touristique et culturelle. Le moment c’est ici et maintenant. Lorsqu’on constate un déclin inexorable, l’unique manière de s’y opposer est la reconversion des structures par des projets de sauvetage des bâtiments desaffectés et la valorisation des ressources existantes, pour donner un caractère digfférent au pays d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

Tout en conservant de grandes parts d’authenticité des bâtiments, la restauration se veut contemporaine, elle montre que le pays change, et que pour rester à la hauteur de la concurrence il faut investir dans le goût, par le beau, l’unique, les technologies de pointe, les projets innovants. C’est pourquoi les maisons sont équipées de services aptes à satisfaire les exigences les plus modernes , elles disposent d’une connection à Internet et de tout ce qui peut être nécessaire en fait de technologies modernes. L’intervention a voulu résoudre, dans le respect de la noblesse des structures existantes et avec rigueur et simplicité, les problématiques du sauvetage de bâtiments en état de dégradation statique et fonctionnelle avancée. Les nouvelles interventions sont reconnaissables dans l’organisme interne qui cependant s’adapte au contenant externe d’origine historique. Des finitions particulières de très haut niveau complètent la restauration, concrétisant l’union du confort et du fonctionnel. La typologie des bâtiments est caractérisée par la présence de diverses structures, les murs d’extérieur en pierre constituent une enceinte solide et irrégulière , caractérisée par la présence de corps de bâtiments et d’ouvertures attribuables à différentes époques. Les structures interieures se développent sur différents plans et les intérieurs ont permis une fonctionnalité essentielle et plus rationnelle que les anciens espaces d’habitation, créant ainsi de nouveaux équilibres caractérisés par le dialogue entre deux structures fortes et précises, anciennes et modernes, qui interagissent dans un jeu de superpositions, de lumières, de matières et de sons.

Le nouveau rapport de ce secteur enchâssé dans le pays se développe en créant une intégration plus encourageante qui améliore leur qualité individuelle. L’Alta Vallemaggia est une région réservée, qui n’aime pas se mettre en avant, mais si on y regarde bien, elle a toujours été à l’avant-garde de l’art de l’habitat comme le montrent les bâtiments historiques et les formes architecturalles recherchées et précisément structurées. L’homme de la montagne doit faire plus d’efforts que les autres pour améliorer sa condition ou pour s’enrichir mais, en même temps, il doit être conscient de pouvoir faire de sa région une force pour la collectivité. La rencontre entre la volonté individuelle et le but collectif est le plus puissant moteur de transformation et de développement de l’histoire, le signe incomparable de la réussite. Malheureusement, c’est cette synergie qui se perd souvent dans la disparition de ce souffle moral qui fut source de réussite et de croissance dans le passé. Il y aurait une solution: notre société doit en venir à accepter que sans risque il n’y a pas de croissance. Nous ne devons pas protéger n’importe quoi de manière absolue , mais il y a des risques que nous devons tous apprendre à accepter et approfondir.

Approfondimenti
03.09.2010Häuser ModernisierenAus Liebe zum Steinde
2010EingängeRustico "Rocco" - Roger Mandlde
10.2007HelvetissimoHelvetissimo - Casa Rocco, Casa al Forn, Casa La Vedolait / en / de / fr
09.2007HelvetissimoHelvetissimo - L'architecture au service de l'historie et de l'avenirde / fr
05.2007Cantieri & AbitareRiattazione e trasformazione nucleo, Fusio (Vallemaggia)it
02.2007Vivere la MontagnaRelazione, trasformazione e riattazione di un nucleo a Fusio-Vallemaggiait
02.2007Living is LifeIl rustico nobilitatoit
30.01.2007Giornale del PopoloOcchi aperti su Fusioit
01.2007BaumeisterSanierung und Umbau Casa Rocco,Casa al Forn, Casa La Vedola in Fusio/Tessinde

Giovan Luigi Dazio
Architetto

Via Ramogna 14 | 6600 Locarno
T. +41 (0) 91 751 63 82
N. +41 (0) 79 409 83 63
F. +41 (0) 91 752 23 19
E. glddazio@gld-dazio.ch

Tutte le informazioni (testi, immagini, video) pubblicate sul sito web www.gld-dazio.ch sono di esclusiva proprietà dello Studio d'Architettura Giovan Luigi Dazio. Per l'utilizzo, la riproduzione e la distribuzione di queste informazioni è necessario richiedere il consenso del proprietario.